May 2017 – SSP names Dr. Amy Barr Mlinar as its first Chief Academic Officer. Announcement

Nov. 2016 – The Board of Trustees has voted to hold the first Summer Science Program in Biochemistry at Purdue University in 2017. Press release

Sept. 2015 – In summer 2016, Purdue Univ. will host a pilot Summer Science Program in Biochemistry. Six SSP ’15 alumni will design inhibitors for fungal pathogen enzymes. This research may contribute to eco-friendly protection for agricultural crops, important to feeding humanity.

Oct. 2014 – Beginning in summer 2015, the University of Colorado at Boulder will host the Summer Science Program, which will relocate from Westmont College in Santa Barbara where it has operated since 2010. Press release.

Sept. 2014 – The winners of the SSP New Curriculum Prizes are: Dr. Tracy Furutani ’79 and Dr. Elana Fertig ’98 for their Marine Metagenomics proposal, and Dr. Mark Hall for his biochemistry based Anti-fungal Drug Discovery proposal. Press release.

Aug. 2014 – SSP alumni Roohi Dalal ’12, Bryan Brzycki ’12, Luke Finnerty ’14, and Claire Burch ’14 have organized a USA team for the International Olympiad for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IOAA), an annual high school science competition in which over forty countries participate.

Sept. 2013 – SSP has received a grant from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation to fund a three-year expansion planning process. Development and testing of two possible new curricula is now underway. If all goes well, a third campus will open in 2017.

Dr. Edwin C. Krupp ’61 has won the 2013 Andrew Gemant Award from the American Institute of Physics. The Gemant award recognizes significant contributions to the cultural, artistic or humanistic dimension of physics.

Nov. 2012 – The Gangnam Style MIT parody starring Richard Yoon ’08 has reached 4.9 million views on YouTube.

Caltech astronomer Maarten Schmidt, discoverer of quasars, was honored at the Westmont campus for his 33 guest lectures at SSP.

Dec. 2011 – Dr. Kevin Krisciunas, Academic Director of SSP 2008 at NM Tech, AAD Dr. Agnes Bischoff-Kim, and students Erika DeBenedictis, Jeremy Steeger, Gil Tabak, and Kanika Pasricha, have co-authored a refereed paper in the American Journal of Physics, “The First Three Rungs of the Cosmological Distance Ladder”.

Sept. 2011 – Mitch Kapor ’66 was honored at the new Entrepreneurs Walk of Fame at Kendall Square in Cambridge. Joining Mitch in the inaugural class are Thomas Edison, Steve Jobs, Bill Hewlett, David Packard, Bob Swanson, and Bill Gates.

Sept. 2010 – Beijing – Three SSP alumni have won medals at the International Olympiad in Astronomy & Astrophysics (IOAA). Miruna Oprescu ’09 and Aniruddha Bapat ’08 won golds, and Ana-Maria Constantin ’10 received a bronze. 24 teams from 22 countries participated in the 4th annual IOAA.

Aug. 2010 – Dr. Jerry Nelson ’60, Prof. of Astronomy and Astrophysics at the UC Santa Cruz, has won the $1 million Kavli Prize in Astrophysics along with two other researchers, for their innovations in the field of adaptive optics in telescope design.

March 2009 – Erika DeBenedictis ’08 won the $100,000 first prize in the Intel Science Talent Search, for developing a software navigation system to improve spacecraft travel through the solar system.

March 2007 – Mary Masterman ’05 won the $100,000 Grand Prize in the Intel Science Talent Search competition, for designing and building a low-cost spectrograph.
Daniel Handlin ’06 won $20,000 for a new way to locate geo-stationary satellites. Congratulations Mary and Daniel!