Astrophysics Host Campuses

University of Colorado at Boulder

Nestled in the Rocky Mountain foothills, CU Boulder is a center for science and engineering, with particular strength in physics, astrophysics, aerospace, and science education. The physics faculty includes four Nobel Laureates. SSP participants take their asteroid images using two PlaneWave telescopes at the Sommers-Bausch Observatory on campus. The observatory also has a classroom and computer lab for our use.

New Mexico State University

NMSU in Las Cruces is the oldest institute of higher education in the state. Its top-notch Astronomy Department operates Apache Point Observatory on behalf of the Astrophysical Research Consortium. SSP participants have nightly access to two observatories: in-person at Tombaugh Observatory on campus, and remote control of the 24″ at Tortugas Mountain Observatory nearby.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

UNC Chapel Hill, located in the Research Triangle of North Carolina, is the nation’s first public university, founded in 1795. The UNC Department of Physics and Astronomy operates the Morehead Observatory and its 24″ telescope, housed on top of Morehead Planetarium and Science Center on campus. Morehead Observatory is also headquarters for the international Skynet Telescope Network.